Previously Available Only as a Hidden Track on Physical Versions of I Hate Cowboys & All Dogs Go To Hell, “For A Day” is Available Everywhere Now in Honor of the 15th Anniversary of Daniel Rice’s Passing

Previously available only as a hidden track on physical versions of Chase Rice’s critically acclaimed album, I Hate Cowboys & All Dogs Go To Hell, powerfully emotional song “For A Day” is available everywhere today, May 18, as Rice marks the 15th anniversary of his late father’s passing.

Written alone by Rice and recorded on the final day of the immersive two-week session at his rural home-turned-studio with producer Oscar Charles, “For A Day” was captured in its purest form, with just Rice and a guitar, once the live band was gone and the bulk of the studio setup had been torn down.

“This is as raw as it gets,” the man praised by Sports Illustrated for “his wild ride to redemption” explains. “I miss my dad every day, and if I could have one more with him here’s just a couple things I’d do with him. My favorite part would be seeing him with my niece and two nephews. I did three takes on this, one for each one of them, and I couldn’t hold it together for any of ’em.”

We’d hop in your F-250. I’d tell you to tell me about how you met mom when you was on your way to pick up your second to last first date. We’d pour out Black Velvet Whisky, the first one you ever drank with me. I’d trade my Chevrolet, every dollar made, every song I ever sang… for a day,” sings Rice in what Billboard celebrates as “most vulnerable recording to date” emblematic of “his open-hearted approach to his new music.”

Rice first debuted the song ahead of the album’s release on the Grand Ole Opry stage, where he reflected on the sudden loss of Daniel Rice in 2008 and the impact that had on his musical journey, including at his 2014 Opry debut where he looked out to see his mom, Connie, next to an empty seat in his dad’s honor. Watch the moving performance and Rice’s heartfelt intro HERE.

The song’s digital release follows this week’s premiere of a 10-part docuseries chronicling the full recording process of I Hate Cowboys & All Dogs Go To Hell, with the first three episodes available now and additional installments dropping each Tuesday. Watch HERE.

Rice’s Way Down Yonder Tour also continues to visit sold-out venues across the country, as summer anthem “Bad Day To Be A Cold Beer” is impacting Country radio now. For all the latest news and to purchase tickets to upcoming shows, visit

I Hate Cowboys & All Dogs Go To Hell Track List:
Produced by Oscar Charles, Songwriters in Parentheses
1. Walk That Easy (Chase Rice, William Reames, Barton Davies, Jonathan Sherwood, Oscar Charles)
2. All Dogs Go To Hell (Chase Rice, Joshua Miller, John Byron)
3. Way Down Yonder (Chase Rice, Hunter Phelps, John Byron, Blake Pendergrass, Corey Crowder)
4. Key West & Colorado (Chase Rice, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Blake Pendergrass, John Byron, Hunter Phelps)
5. Bench Seat (Chase Rice)
6. Life Part Of Livin’ (Chase Rice)
7. Bad Day To Be A Cold Beer (Chase Rice, Blake Pendergrass, John Byron, Justin Thomas)
8. Oklahoma feat. Read Southall Band (Chase Rice, William Reames, Barton Davies, Jonathan Sherwood, Oscar Charles, Read Southall)
9. I Walk Alone (Chase Rice, Jaxson Free, Josh Hoge)
10. Sorry Momma (Chase Rice, Hunter Phelps, Ben Johnson)
11. If I Were Rock & Roll (Album Version) (Chase Rice)
12. Goodnight Nancy feat. Boy Named Banjo (Chase Rice, Oscar Charles, Barton Davies, William Reames, Jonathan Sherwood)
13. I Hate Cowboys (Chase Rice, Michael Hardy, Ross Copperman, Brad Tursi)